OEKO-TEX® standards enable everyone to make responsible decisions and protect natural resources. Products bearing the OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 and OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD labels have been scientifically tested for the presence of harmful substances and are a better and safer choice for your health. Textiles and leather carrying the OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN label are produced more sustainably in socially responsible workplaces. 
The OEKO-TEX® STeP certification and the DETOX TO ZERO analysis set the highest standards for social and environmental aspects of textile and leather production. Chemicals and treatments that meet the OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT standard have been tested and analysed against strict criteria, for a lower environmental impact. OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS supports you on preventing or mitigating existing and potential negative impacts of business operations within your own activities, your supply chains and your further business relationships.

OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN

Oeko-mig

OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN is a traceable product label for all kinds of textiles and leather products that have been manufactured in environmentally friendly facilities under safe and socially responsible working conditions. The MADE IN GREEN label also reassures consumers that the textile or leather product is made of materials that have been tested for harmful substances.

What are the requirements for MADE IN GREEN?

  • One prerequisite for MADE IN GREEN is that the product is tested for harmful substances and certified in accordance with the OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 or OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD. ​
  • To ensure that the textile or leather product has been manufactured using environmentally friendly processes and under socially responsible working conditions, the production facilities must be certified in accordance with OEKO-TEX® STeP.
mig requirements

OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100

oeko-100

OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 is one of the world's best-known labels for textiles tested for harmful substances. It stands for customer confidence and high product safety. 

What does the label mean?

If a textile article carries the STANDARD 100 label, you can be certain that every component of this article, i.e. every thread, button and other accessories, has been tested for harmful substances and that the article therefore is harmless for human health. The test is conducted by our independent OEKO-TEX® partner institutes on the basis of our extensive OEKO-TEX® criteria catalog. In the test they take into account numerous regulated and non-regulated substances, which may be harmful to human health. In many cases the limit values for the STANDARD 100 go beyond national and international requirements. The criteria catalog is updated at least once a year and expanded with new scientific knowledge or statutory requirements. It is not easy for manufacturers and customers to keep an overview of the legal situation concerning harmful substances every day. Our experts from the OEKO-TEX® institutes do this for you.

OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD

oeko-leather-100

OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD is an internationally standardised testing and certification system for leather and leather goods at all production levels, including accessory materials. The certification supports companies along the supply chain with the implementation of high human-ecological product safety. The certification serves as legally binding verification of successful product certification in all business processes in accordance with LEATHER STANDARD. 

What does the LEATHER STANDARD label mean?

The LEATHER STANDARD label indicates that the labelled article has successfully passed a test for chemicals that are harmful to health. The basis for this test, which is carried out by an independent OEKO-TEX® partner institute, such as Centexbel, is the OEKO-TEX® criteria catalogue with several hundred regulated individual substances. The strict limit values and test criteria of the criteria catalogue are much stricter than the valid national and international specifications and include various parameters for safeguarding health. OEKO-TEX® updates the test criteria at least once per year and, in doing so, takes into account the latest scientific findings and changes to legislation.

OEKO-TEX® Step

oeko-step

Sustainable Textile Production (STeP) by OEKO-TEX® is a certification system for brands, retail companies and manufacturers from the textile chain who want to communicate their achievements regarding sustainable manufacturing processes to the public in a transparent, credible and clear manner.

What does the certification mean?

STeP differs from other certification systems because, instead of considering only individual sustainability aspects, it includes a comprehensive analysis and assessment of the production conditions instead. STeP analyses all important areas of a company using 6 modules:

  1. Chemical management
  2. Environmental performance
  3. Environmental management
  4. Social responsibility
  5. Quality management
  6. Health protection and safety at work

The aim of STeP certification is the long-term implementation of environmentally friendly production processes, social working conditions and optimum health and safety.

STeP certified companies:

DETOX TO ZERO

OEKO-TEX® DETOX TO ZERO is an efficient verification system for the textile and leather industry which aims to implement the criteria of the Greenpeace DETOX Campaign within production facilities. In this case, instead of certification, there is an analysis tool for the optimisation and monitoring of chemicals management and wastewater quality. 

What is DETOX TO ZERO?

DETOX TO ZERO is based on the DETOX campaign launched by Greenpeace in 2011 whereby the goal of the campaign is to exclude hazardous chemicals from textile production. With DETOX TO ZERO, OEKO-TEX® provides textile and leather producers with a practical and usable analysis and assessment tool which creates transparency and control in the use of hazardous substances. The focus is on:

  • Wastewater and sludge conformity in accordance with the DETOX TO ZERO Manufacturing Restricted Substance List (MRSL)
  • Conformity of chemicals used in the company as per the DETOX TO ZERO MRSL
  • General management with a focus on chemicals and environmental performance

When using the DETOX TO ZERO analysis and assessment tool, producers cannot “fail” or “pass” as this is not a traditional certification system. Instead, the focus is on a continuous improvement process. The situation is also analysed in the production facilities and a robust action plan is prepared which provides for the gradual reduction in harmful substances in production processes.

The Impact Calculator

Calculate your Carbon and Water Footprint

OEKO-TEX® STeP facilities are now able to measure and report their carbon emissions and water usage impact – at the facility level, by processing step or for 1kg of material. As part of its Roadmap to Excellence, the OEKO-TEX® STeP programme has developed a simple, user-friendly digital tool for facilities to calculate the Carbon and Water Footprint: THE IMPACT CALCULATOR.

The Impact Calculator provides production facilities an initial estimate and assessment on the materials and process steps that contribute most to their overall environmental impact. Participation is voluntary and will be available to any textile production facility applying for or already holding a OEKO-TEX® STeP certification. 

OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT

oeko-ecopass

OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT is an independent certification system for chemicals, colourants and auxiliaries used in the textile and leather industry. During a multistep process, we analyse whether each individual ingredient in the chemical product meets the statutory requirements and that it is not harmful to human health. Both brands and manufacturers value the ECO PASSPORT as credible proof of sustainable textile and leather production.

What does the certificate state?

The certification system ECO PASSPORT is designed for manufacturers of process chemicals and chemical compounds. The leather and textile chemicals certified in accordance with the ECO PASSPORT have been tested for harmful substances in critical concentrations as listed in the ECO PASSPORT standard. The label also gives transparent proof of which articles meet the criteria for ecologically responsible textile and leather manufacture. Once per year, OEKO-TEX® updates the banned substances and limit values and expands them to include new scientific findings or statutory requirements.

Which products can be certified?

All chemicals, colourants and auxiliaries used for the manufacture of textiles and leather materials can be certified in accordance with ECO PASSPORT. This also includes industry-specific formulations (chemical compounds) for the textile, leather and clothing industry.

Benefits for brands

  • With the independent certification, you demonstrate your sustainability approach to your customers in procurement and encourage trust in your products. ECO PASSPORT comprises a comprehensive approach for the handling of chemicals and is thus your pioneer for “Green Chemistry”.
  • You ensure that your textiles do not contain any harmful substances on the OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100  and OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD RSL in concentrations that are harmful to humans.
  • You can use all chemicals certified in accordance with ECO PASSPORT for the production of STANDARD 100 and LEATHER STANDARD certified articles.
  • For certifications in accordance with STANDARD 100 and LEATHER STANDARD, ECO PASSPORT is recognised as a pre-certificate. You thus save on laboratory costs.
  • Certification incl.  Self-Assessment and On-Site Visit is recognised by the ZDHC organisation as “MRSL Conformance Indicator Level 3”, currently the highest conformity level. Completion of the Screening and the Verification leads to ZDHC Conformity Level 1. Carrying out the Self-Assessment without the On-Site Visit leads to conformity level 2. You have the chance to find certified products in the OEKO-TEX® Buying Guide, which is public and free of charge.
  • The ZDHC Gateway and BHive App from GoBlu are available for the publication of certified products, including all associated certificates.

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS is a management tool to meet supply chain due diligence requirements in the textile and leather industry. It supports companies to prevent and mitigate existing and potential negative impacts of business operations within the own activities, the supply chains and in the wider business relationships. 

What does OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS mean?

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS certifies the management system of a company and assesses to which extend  due diligence obligations with regard to human rights and environmental criteria are implemented in the company and in their supply chains. Following Due Diligence elements are subject of evaluation:​

  1. ​Business policy​
  2. Risk analysis​
  3. Integration of appropriate actions​
  4. Continuous monitoring​
  5. Transparent communication​
  6. Complaint mechanism​

​Furthermore, companies can map in module 7. Environment / Climate to which extend a climate strategy has been defined, targets set and emission reductions already measured.​

The goal of RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS certification is the long-term implementation of due diligence measures with regard to human rights and the environment in the textile and leather industry.​

RB glance

Recycled materials in OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100

Recycled materials are difficult to certify. With their previous life, recycled materials are posing different challenges than regular virgin material. Therefore, within the STANDARD 100 framework these materials are treated differently.  

For the certification of recycled materials with STANDARD 100 different rules apply as for regular materials. If recycled is mentioned in the article scope the following basic rules apply: 

  • At least 20% of the main textile material needs to be recycled 
  • More information about the source of the materials is requested in the application 
  • An effective quality management system needs to be proven. This is needed to ensure a consistent product quality.
  • The testing program can differ compared to virgin material. While there is no chemical test whether a material is recycled or not, the varying source can lead to a higher testing frequency.  
  • A separate certificate from a virgin material is needed.  
  • Blends with virgin materials are allowed when they are necessary for the manufacturing of the material.   

Downloads

OEKO-TEX® provides a centralized page where you can download all relevant documents regarding

  • standards
  • applications
  • product information
  • organisation
  • and more

Les normes OEKO-TEX® permettent à chacun de prendre des décisions responsables et de protéger les ressources naturelles. Les produits portant les labels OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 et OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD ont été testés scientifiquement pour détecter la présence de substances nocives et constituent un choix meilleur et plus sûr pour votre santé. Les textiles et le cuir portant le label OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN sont produits de manière plus durable dans des lieux de travail socialement responsables. La certification OEKO-TEX® STeP et l'analyse DETOX TO ZERO fixent les normes les plus élevées pour les aspects sociaux et environnementaux de la production de textiles et de cuir. Les produits chimiques et les traitements qui répondent à la norme OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT ont été testés et analysés selon des critères stricts, pour un impact environnemental moindre. OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS vous aide à prévenir ou à atténuer les impacts négatifs existants et potentiels des opérations commerciales au sein de vos propres activités, de vos chaînes d'approvisionnement et de vos autres relations commerciales.

OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN

Oeko-mig

OEKO-TEX® MADE IN GREEN est un label de produit traçable pour tous les types de textiles et de produits en cuir qui ont été fabriqués dans des installations respectueuses de l'environnement dans des conditions de travail sûres et socialement responsables. Le label MADE IN GREEN rassure également les consommateurs sur le fait que le produit en textile ou en cuir est fabriqué à partir de matériaux qui ont été testés pour les substances nocives.

Quelles sont les exigences du label MADE IN GREEN ?

  • L'une des conditions préalables à l'obtention du label MADE IN GREEN est que le produit soit testé pour détecter les substances nocives et certifié conformément à la norme OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 ou à la norme OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD. 
  • Pour garantir que le produit en textile ou en cuir a été fabriqué selon des procédés respectueux de l'environnement et dans des conditions de travail socialement responsables, les installations de production doivent être certifiées conformément à l'OEKO-TEX® STeP.
mig requirements

OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100

oeko-100

OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 est l'un des labels les plus connus au monde pour les textiles testés pour les substances nocives. Il est synonyme de confiance des clients et de sécurité élevée des produits. 

Que signifie le label ?

Si un article textile porte le label STANDARD 100, vous pouvez être certain que chaque composant de cet article, c'est-à-dire chaque fil, bouton et autre accessoire, a été testé pour détecter les substances nocives et que l'article est donc sans danger pour la santé humaine. Le test est réalisé par nos instituts partenaires indépendants OEKO-TEX® sur la base de notre vaste catalogue de critères OEKO-TEX®. Lors du test, ils prennent en compte de nombreuses substances réglementées et non réglementées, qui peuvent être nocives pour la santé humaine. Dans de nombreux cas, les valeurs limites pour le STANDARD 100 vont au-delà des exigences nationales et internationales. Le catalogue de critères est mis à jour au moins une fois par an et complété par de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques ou exigences légales. Il n'est pas facile pour les fabricants et les clients de garder chaque jour une vue d'ensemble de la situation juridique concernant les substances nocives. Nos experts des instituts OEKO-TEX® le font pour vous

OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD

oeko-leather-100

La norme OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD est un système international normalisé de test et de certification pour le cuir et les articles en cuir à tous les niveaux de production, y compris les matériaux accessoires. La certification aide les entreprises tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement à mettre en œuvre une sécurité élevée des produits sur le plan humain et écologique. La certification sert de vérification juridiquement contraignante de la réussite de la certification des produits dans tous les processus commerciaux conformément à la norme LEATHER STANDARD. 


Que signifie le label LEATHER STANDARD ?

Le label LEATHER STANDARD indique que l'article étiqueté a passé avec succès un test sur les produits chimiques dangereux pour la santé. La base de ce test, réalisé par un institut partenaire indépendant d'OEKO-TEX®, comme Centexbel, est le catalogue de critères d'OEKO-TEX® avec plusieurs centaines de substances individuelles réglementées. Les valeurs limites et les critères de test du catalogue de critères sont beaucoup plus stricts que les spécifications nationales et internationales en vigueur et incluent divers paramètres pour la protection de la santé. OEKO-TEX® met à jour les critères de test au moins une fois par an et tient compte des dernières découvertes scientifiques et des modifications de la législation.

OEKO-TEX® Step

oeko-step

La production textile durable (STeP) d'OEKO-TEX® est un système de certification destiné aux marques, aux détaillants et aux fabricants de la chaîne textile qui souhaitent communiquer au public leurs réalisations en matière de processus de fabrication durable de manière transparente, crédible et claire.

Que signifie la certification ?

STeP diffère des autres systèmes de certification car, au lieu de prendre en compte uniquement les aspects individuels de la durabilité, il inclut une analyse et une évaluation complètes des conditions de production. STeP analyse tous les domaines importants d'une entreprise à l'aide de 6 modules :

  1. Gestion des produits chimiques
  2. Performance environnementale
  3. Gestion de l'environnement
  4. Responsabilité sociale
  5. Gestion de la qualité
  6. Protection de la santé et sécurité au travail

L'objectif de la certification STeP est la mise en œuvre à long terme de processus de production respectueux de l'environnement, de conditions de travail sociales et d'une santé et d'une sécurité optimales.

Entreprises certifiées STeP :

DETOX TO ZERO

OEKO-TEX® DETOX TO ZERO est un système de vérification efficace pour l'industrie du textile et du cuir qui vise à mettre en œuvre les critères de la campagne DETOX de Greenpeace au sein des installations de production. Dans ce cas, au lieu d'une certification, il existe un outil d'analyse pour l'optimisation et le contrôle de la gestion des produits chimiques et de la qualité des eaux usées. 

Qu'est-ce que DETOX TO ZERO ?

DETOX TO ZERO est basé sur la campagne DETOX lancée par Greenpeace en 2011, dont l'objectif est d'exclure les produits chimiques dangereux de la production textile. Avec DETOX TO ZERO, OEKO-TEX® fournit aux producteurs de textile et de cuir un outil d'analyse et d'évaluation pratique et utilisable qui crée de la transparence et du contrôle dans l'utilisation des substances dangereuses. L'accent est mis sur :

  • La conformité des eaux usées et des boues conformément à la liste des substances interdites en fabrication (MRSL) de DETOX TO ZERO
  • La conformité des produits chimiques utilisés dans l'entreprise avec la MRSL DETOX TO ZERO.
  • Gestion générale avec un accent sur les produits chimiques et la performance environnementale.

Lorsqu'ils utilisent l'outil d'analyse et d'évaluation DETOX TO ZERO, les producteurs ne peuvent pas "échouer" ou "réussir" car il ne s'agit pas d'un système de certification traditionnel. Au contraire, l'accent est mis sur un processus d'amélioration continue. La situation est également analysée dans les installations de production et un plan d'action solide est préparé, qui prévoit la réduction progressive des substances nocives dans les processus de production.

Le calulateur d'impact

Calculez votre empreinte carbone et eau

Les établissements du programme STeP d'OEKO-TEX® sont désormais en mesure de mesurer et de déclarer leurs émissions de carbone et leur impact sur la consommation d'eau - au niveau de l'établissement, par étape de traitement ou pour 1 kg de matériau. Dans le cadre de sa feuille de route vers l'excellence, le programme OEKO-TEX® STeP a mis au point un outil numérique simple et convivial permettant aux établissements de calculer leur empreinte carbone et eau : LE CALCULATEUR D'IMPACT.

Le calculateur d'impact fournit aux installations de production une première estimation et évaluation des matériaux et des étapes du processus qui contribuent le plus à leur impact environnemental global. La participation est volontaire et sera disponible pour toute installation de production textile demandant ou détenant déjà une certification OEKO-TEX® STeP. 

OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT

oeko-ecopass

OEKO-TEX® ECO PASSPORT est un système de certification indépendant pour les produits chimiques, les colorants et les auxiliaires utilisés dans l'industrie du textile et du cuir. Au cours d'un processus en plusieurs étapes, nous analysons si chaque ingrédient du produit chimique répond aux exigences légales et s'il n'est pas dangereux pour la santé humaine. Les marques et les fabricants considèrent l'ECO PASSPORT comme une preuve crédible de la production durable de textiles et de cuir.

Que dit le certificat ?

Le système de certification ECO PASSPORT est destiné aux fabricants de produits chimiques de traitement et de composés chimiques. Les produits chimiques pour le cuir et le textile certifiés conformément à l'ECO PASSPORT ont été testés pour détecter la présence de substances nocives à des concentrations critiques, comme indiqué dans la norme ECO PASSPORT. Le label permet également de prouver de manière transparente quels articles répondent aux critères de fabrication écologiquement responsable des textiles et du cuir. Une fois par an, OEKO-TEX® met à jour les substances interdites et les valeurs limites et les élargit en fonction des nouvelles découvertes scientifiques ou des exigences légales.

Quels produits peuvent être certifiés ?

Tous les produits chimiques, colorants et auxiliaires utilisés pour la fabrication de textiles et de matériaux en cuir peuvent être certifiés conformément à ECO PASSPORT. Cela inclut également les formulations spécifiques à l'industrie (composés chimiques) pour l'industrie du textile, du cuir et de l'habillement.

Avantages pour les marques

  • Grâce à la certification indépendante, vous démontrez votre approche de la durabilité à vos clients lors de l'approvisionnement et encouragez la confiance dans vos produits. ECO PASSPORT comprend une approche globale de la manipulation des produits chimiques et est donc votre pionnier de la "chimie verte".
  • Vous garantissez que vos textiles ne contiennent aucune substance nocive figurant sur les listes OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100 et OEKO-TEX® LEATHER STANDARD RSL à des concentrations dangereuses pour l'homme.
  • Vous pouvez utiliser tous les produits chimiques certifiés conformément à ECO PASSPORT pour la production d'articles certifiés STANDARD 100 et LEATHER STANDARD.
  • Pour les certifications selon STANDARD 100 et LEATHER STANDARD, ECO PASSPORT est reconnu comme un pré-certificat. Vous économisez ainsi les frais de laboratoire.
  • La certification, y compris l'auto-évaluation et la visite sur place, est reconnue par l'organisation ZDHC comme "indicateur de conformité MRSL niveau 3", actuellement le niveau de conformité le plus élevé. L'achèvement de l'examen préalable et de la vérification conduit au niveau de conformité 1 de la ZDHC. La réalisation de l'auto-évaluation sans la visite sur site conduit au niveau de conformité 2. Vous avez la possibilité de trouver des produits certifiés dans le guide d'achat OEKO-TEX®, qui est public et gratuit.
  • La passerelle ZDHC et l'application BHive de GoBlu sont disponibles pour la publication des produits certifiés, y compris tous les certificats associés.

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS est un outil de gestion permettant de répondre aux exigences de diligence raisonnable de la chaîne d'approvisionnement dans l'industrie du textile et du cuir. Il aide les entreprises à prévenir et à atténuer les impacts négatifs existants et potentiels des opérations commerciales au sein de leurs propres activités, des chaînes d'approvisionnement et des relations commerciales plus larges. 

Que signifie OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS ?

OEKO-TEX® RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS certifie le système de gestion d'une entreprise et évalue dans quelle mesure les obligations de diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de l'homme et de critères environnementaux sont mises en œuvre dans l'entreprise et dans ses chaînes d'approvisionnement. Les éléments de Due Diligence suivants font l'objet d'une évaluation.

  • Politique d'entreprise
  • Analyse des risques
  • Intégration d'actions appropriées
  • Contrôle continu
  • Communication transparente
  • Mécanisme de plainte

En outre, les entreprises peuvent indiquer dans le module 7. Environnement / Climat dans quelle mesure une stratégie climatique a été définie, des objectifs fixés et des réductions d'émissions déjà mesurées.

L'objectif de la certification RESPONSIBLE BUSINESS est la mise en œuvre à long terme de mesures de diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de l'homme et d'environnement dans l'industrie du textile et du cuir.

RB glance

Matériaux recyclés dans OEKO-TEX® STANDARD 100

Les matériaux recyclés sont difficiles à certifier. Avec leur vie antérieure, les matériaux recyclés posent des problèmes différents de ceux des matériaux vierges ordinaires. C'est pourquoi, dans le cadre de STANDARD 100, ces matériaux sont traités différemment.  

Pour la certification des matériaux recyclés avec STANDARD 100, différentes règles s'appliquent comme pour les matériaux ordinaires. Si le recyclage est mentionné dans le champ d'application de l'article, les règles de base suivantes s'appliquent : 

  • Au moins 20 % du matériau textile principal doit être recyclé. 
  • Des informations supplémentaires sur l'origine des matériaux sont demandées dans la demande. 
  • Un système de gestion de la qualité efficace doit être prouvé. Ceci est nécessaire pour garantir une qualité constante du produit.
  • Le programme de tests peut être différent de celui d'un matériau vierge. Bien qu'il n'existe pas de test chimique permettant de déterminer si un matériau est recyclé ou non, le fait que la source varie peut entraîner une fréquence de test plus élevée.  
  • Un certificat distinct de celui d'un matériau vierge est nécessaire.  
  • Les mélanges avec des matériaux vierges sont autorisés lorsqu'ils sont nécessaires à la fabrication du matériau.

Téléchargements

OEKO-TEX® fournit une page centralisée où vous pouvez télécharger tous les documents pertinents concernant

  • les normes
  • les applications
  • les informations sur les produits
  • l'organisation
  • et plus encore