A merger with added value

Since the textile and plastic processing industry are working with the same polymers and additives and are often confronted with similar - even identical - challenges, opportunities and needs, a merger between both competence centres was the obvious solution to optimize, reinforce and expand our research and activities in the field of:

vkc lab

Polymer lab in Kortrijk

  • bio-polymers
  • replacement of harmful chemicals
  • recycling of polymer and composite materials
  • (nano) additives
  • incorporation of smart materials
  • material compounding

    Factories of the Future

    Centexbel-VKC has taken the lead in the Fabriek voor de Toekomst "New Materials", a cluster of textile and plastic converting companies that is mainly active in the Province of West-Flanders. The region - known for its flax and textile companies - has been transformed in a top region of plastic converting, textile and design entrepreneurs.

    Centexbel-VKC in Kortrijk is the knowledge hub where companies can further develop their expertise. 

    Testing

    Our plastic characterisation laboratory in Kortrijk offers a whole series of tests, that is completed with the tests performed in our labs in Ghent and Grâce-Hollogne.

    R&D projects

    Centexbel-VKC has created a research group dedicated to plastic materials, products, processes and recycling. Because of the common interests with the textile industry based on the use of identical/similar raw materials and additives, there is an intens collaboration with the other R&D groups.

    Pilot Platform

    By facilitating and hosting the Factory of the Future, new materials, we have put several machines at the disposal of the industry to produce samples or small production runs.

    Professional training

    Every spring and autumn, we organise a series of theoretical and practical professional trainings for the employees of the plastic converting industry. This offer is complemented with information sessions, seminars and conferences.

Une fusion à valeur ajoutée

Etant donné que l'industrie textile et l'industrie plasturgique traitent les mêmes polymères et additifs et qu'elles doivent souvent faire face aux défis, opportunités et besoins similaires - voire identiques -  une fusion entre les deux centres nous semblait la réponse évidente pour optimiser, renforcer et étendre notre recherche dans les domaines suivants:

vkc lab

Labo de caractérisation de polymères à Courtrai

  • bio-polymères
  • remplacement de substances dangereuses
  • recyclage de polymères et de matériaux composites
  • (nano) additifs
  • incorporation de matériaux intelligents
  • compoundage

    Factories of the Future

    Centexbel-VKC a pris le devant dans l'inititative Fabriek voor de Toekomst "New Materials", un cluster d'entreprises textiles et plasturgiques qui est surtout actif dans la province de la Flandre Occidentale. Cette région - renommée pour ses entreprises textiles et de lin - s'est transformée en une région d'excellence au niveau de la plasturgie, de la production textile et d'entrepreneurs de design.

    Centexbel-VKC à Courtrai est le pôle de connaissance où les entrerpises peuvent poursuivre le développement de leurs expertises.

    Analyses

    Notre laboratoire de caractérisation à Courtrai offre une série d'essais, complétée par les essais effectués au sein de nos labos à Gand et à Grâce-Hollogne.

    Projets R&D

    Centexbel-VKC a créé un groupe de recherche dédicacé aux matériaux, aux produits, aux processus et au reclage plastiques. En raison des intérêts communs avec l'industrie textiles en vue de l'application de matières premières et additifs identiques/similaires, il y a une intense collaboration avec les autres groupes de recherche.

    Plateformes pilotes

    En facilitant et en accueillant la Factory of the Future, new materials, nous avons mis plusieurs machines, adaptées au prototypage et à la production de petites séries, à la disposition de l'industrie.

    Formation professionnelle

    Au printemps et en automne, nous organisons une série de formations théoriques et pratiques au bénéfice des employés de l'industrie plasturgique. Cette offre est complémentée par des sessions informatives, des séminaires et des conférences.