The Interreg North-West Europe Programme fosters transnational cooperation to make Northwestern Europe a key economic player and an attractive place to work and live, with high levels of innovation, sustainability and cohesion.

The NWE area

NWE region

The Interreg NWE Programme involves Ireland, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, and parts of France, Germany and the Netherlands. It has an area of 845 000 km² and is home to 180 million people. Considered as one of the most dynamic and prosperous areas of Europe, it also faces a number of environmental, social and economic needs and challenges.

Programme Priorities


Helping enterprises innovate

Low carbon

Supporting the shift towards a low carbon economy in all sectors and promoting sustainable transport

Resource & materials efficiency

New ways to produce more value with fewer materials